Plastic Free Month: Day One

First day has gone relatively well!

I’ve started a block at uni that is purely for research and so today has been filled with meetings and discussions about what I need to do and all the stuff i need etc. So my first slip up was needing to use a pen!…Just the once, for like one sentence! Otherwise i’ve been using pencils! It is also my brothers birthday today and we went out for meal at lunchtime. I had orange juice that of course would have come out of a container so slip up 2.. plus it would be amazing if the the whole meal came without plastic somewhere but lets hope! Lesson learned!

But apart from that, I’ve been okay so far. I had to drive to a local grocers to pick up the fruit and vegetables for a couple of days, I’ve even baked a loaf of bread and made oat milk!

I have put all of my plastic things in the corner of my room so that I can’t use them. There were quite a few things that I hadn’t thought of like my spices! Ah! But I’ll will try and find a way to work around it! It’s so tempting when they’re simply there watching you all the time. Literally calling out “use me!”

I have already started to realise how much simpler everything is. No makeup, no creams… although no suntan lotion which is a bit worrying..

 

 

I have plastic bottles in the fridge that i’m using to have constant cold water, i’m also using all the plastic Tupperware that I have. I wont be buying any new ones but I bought these with the intention that they would last. Guess it’s opinion whether I’m being naughty or not! But i feel like there’s no point me buying new non-plastic ones when i have what I need anyway!  We shall see!

I’ve been washing up with the vinegar, bicarb, soap crystal concoction and not formed an opinion yet but the vinegar smell will take some getting used to!

My flatmate bought me some plastic free toilet roll which is amazing! I don’t have to totally rely on the flannels now. I know i’m bound to catch myself out and run out at some point so these are perfect!

Rebecca xx

Leave a Reply

